Remember the Alamo!

I’ll write my adventure in San Antonio, Texas in two parts. This is a delayed post of my first journey to the Lone Star State.

We went to San Antonio for one reason only: to see the Alamo. Yes, that is correct. You have no idea how many times I’ve had to explain this to confused people. My mom is a big fan of the TV show, “Davy Crockett,” so we went.

We stayed in an AirBnB on the east side of the city. It was close to the city without being downtown in an area that appears to be poorer than the rest of the community. However, it was a great base camp, with downtown just 5 min away.

Even though my mom is a BIG Davy Crockett fan, my knowledge of what happened at the Alamo was limited, and was proved by the tour we took of the grounds. If you ever take the trip to San Antonio, I highly recommend paying for the ‘Battlefield Experience’ tour. It’s only an hour, but it’s a guided tour of the fort site, which is much larger than the current site’s footprint.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I learned that Davy Crockett voted against moving Native Americans into reservations, and as a result, lost his seat in Congress. Irate, ‘you may go to hell, and I’ll go to Texas.’ And so he went. And then he died, fighting against 2,500 Mexican soldiers for control of the Alamo.

The Alamo wasn’t always a fort: it started as a mission for the Catholic church, another thing I didn’t remember from high school history.

After the tour, we walked around the site a little bit and saw some of the artifacts, which to me wasn’t as interesting as the remaining structures or the tour.

Hungry, we walked the two blocks to the Riverwalk. I thought the sidewalks along the river would be wider, since there are miles of bars and restaurants, but no. They are extremely narrow with no railings! It wasn’t exactly tourist season, so fortunately we didn’t have to fight for space! I can only imagine how many people must fall into the disgusting water every year.

IMG_4142.JPG

One of the things I wanted to do was go on the boat tour of the Riverwalk, so we did: you get a 35 minute tour for only $10, which is pretty great. San Antonio’s Christmas decorations included hanging lights and a  Christmas tree in the middle of the river!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

(fun fact: Germans immigrants also settled in San Antonio, so don’t get confused like I did. It’s okay. They were there too, and even built a giant social club along the Riverwalk!)

Note about Texas in December: it’s cold. Fortunately, our day downtown was the warmest of the days, but in the shade, shivering.

We ate dinner at the Tower of the Americas, upon a recommendation from my uncle. Built for the 1968 World’s Fair, the tower is apparently is taller than the Space Needle. I disagree, and think they’re cheating with the giant antenna, but I could be just a tad biased. The Chart House restaurant, like the Needle’s SkyCity, rotates 360 degrees with a sky-high view of America’s seventh-largest city.

In one day, we completed the three most important tourist destinations: Alamo, Riverwalk and the Tower of the Americas, once part of the Hemisfair complex.

Do you know you this guy is? Please let me know! He has to be great because not only is he a statue, he has a fantastic pose!

img_4234

 

3 thoughts on “Remember the Alamo!

Leave a Reply

